I seldom watch TV programs. I am so busy at work and if I am not working then I am sleeping. During my days off, I usually bum around the house and watch movies or series in the web. I hardly watch any local programs and news but just yesterday I was preparing to go to work and I had a few minutes to spare so I decided to watch the news…

As I turned on the TV, A news headline immediately popped in…

“52 kids died in Cambodia due to mysterious illness.”

That is just not the type of news that I would want to hear. It is so sad, 52 kids who still haven’t experienced everything the world has to offer, and now they never will. It is alarming how this mysterious virus attacked the immune system. From what I have read in article, symptoms include high fever and respiratory difficulties then it will proceed further from there and it may lead to system shutdown and neurologic problems.

I also read that somehow this disease is caused by a virus that can cause paralysis, brain swelling and may eventually lead to death. It is also said to be easily spreadable through coughing, sneezing and contact to infected bodily fluids.Cambodian government are still on the process of investigating this said disease.

Here in the Philippines, the government is taking precautions by putting up thermal scanners in airport and especially monitoring the passengers who went to Cambodia.

Let’s all hope and pray that there will be no further cases of deaths attributed to the said disease and will not spread worldwide. Let us also hope that Cambodia will be able to find a cure and a way to stop the illness from spreading so that no other children will go through such untimely demise.

To those who loss a child/children because of this disease, I am really very sorry for your loss.

P.S.

If you want to read the article that I read

Here’s the link:

http://www.wdbo.com/ap/ap/agriculture/common-child-illness-linked-to-cambodia-killer/nPpYk/

