I was supposed to be at work today but I chose not to go. These past few days, it has been raining heavily here in my part of the world.

Well, living in a tropical country my whole life, I am used to the rain. We only have two seasons, summer and rainy, that is. I am not a summer person, I don’t like the idea of the prickly heat sensation in skin. I love the cold weather though we seldom have that here. When it rains its cold and I used to love it and I think I still do. But its different now, I have a job and I have to brave the weather in order to get to the office. I worked six consecutive days last week, It was tiring and the rain didn’t make it any easier. I don’t have a car so I commute back and forth and there are numerous occasions on that 6-day work sched that I had to ride a cab because of the rain and that wasn’t practical considering of how much I earn, Imagine that one-way taxi ride is already 1/3 of my daily rate. Not to mention 4 pairs of shoes were also ruined by the rain but that didn’t stop me from completing my sched last week without any absences or tardiness. I was actually proud of myself. I told myself that this August, I will have a perfect attendance at work but tht didn’t happen.

Today, I was supposed to come in for work at 3am. (We follow another country’s time zone at work.) I was planning to go to work at 10 pm last night because it’s not safe to commute at the wee hours of the night but my plan didn’t work out because of the non-stop heavy rains I turned on the T.V. and apparently the country has been experiencing heavy rains for 9 consecutive days. On that nine days of rain, there are certain periods of time that the rain would stop but since yesterday night, this particular rain still hasn’t stopped. One weird thing about it is that there are no storms noted, this is just caused by a monsoon or something.

While I’m writing this, I am hearing the heavy drops of rain and thunders outside. A lot of streets and roads are flooded. It’s like Ketsana all-over again. I hope this rain will be over soon, I am missing the sun. I hate seeing visions of flooded communities and people losing their houses in the news.

It’s good that I don’t live in a flood-prone area but it’s terrible to see the news and hear about people actually losing their houses because of this senseless rain. Now, I think Global Warming is making its presence known.

